Hello everyone.

The Mixed Reality Forums here are no longer being used or maintained.

There are a few other places we would like to direct you to for support, both from Microsoft and from the community.

The first way we want to connect with you is our mixed reality developer program, which you can sign up for at https://aka.ms/IWantMR.

For technical questions, please use Stack Overflow, and tag your questions using either hololens or windows-mixed-reality.

If you want to join in discussions, please do so in the HoloDevelopers Slack, which you can join by going to https://aka.ms/holodevelopers, or in our Microsoft Tech Communities forums at https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/mixed-reality/ct-p/MicrosoftMixedReality.

And always feel free to hit us up on Twitter @MxdRealityDev.
Options

Can TDD approach be used for Developing HoloLens Applications ?

prasadlprasadl
edited January 2017 in Discussion

Hi, I'm new to HoloLens application development as well as unity. I want to know whether we can use Test-Driven Development(TDD) approach for developing HoloLens applications, if not what's the best development approach to be applied for developing HoloLens apps, and also I would like to know best practices as well (Assume it's an industry level Holographic app).

Thank you.

Best Answer

• Options
    utekaiutekai ✭✭✭
    Answer ✓

Yes, TDD can be used.

There is not a 'best development approach' at this point. There are many opinions.

For instance you can spend many many hours learning Unity. Or not.

You can design an app that requires the user to hold their arms out and up and tap their fingers a lot. Or not.

A few minutes of arms-up and most users don't want to do it anymore, as holding your arms out in front of you is tiring. It's a classic UI mistake Microsoft is making. But if your app is just to show the user your hologram, then it's ok. But if the user wants to do work, then don't make them hold up their arms for long periods of time to use it.