Hello everyone.

The Mixed Reality Forums here are no longer being used or maintained.

There are a few other places we would like to direct you to for support, both from Microsoft and from the community.

The first way we want to connect with you is our mixed reality developer program, which you can sign up for at https://aka.ms/IWantMR.

For technical questions, please use Stack Overflow, and tag your questions using either hololens or windows-mixed-reality.

If you want to join in discussions, please do so in the HoloDevelopers Slack, which you can join by going to https://aka.ms/holodevelopers, or in our Microsoft Tech Communities forums at https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/mixed-reality/ct-p/MicrosoftMixedReality.

And always feel free to hit us up on Twitter @MxdRealityDev.
Options

What do I need to develop Hololens with MAC?

Hi, I am new to this and trying to install HoloLens in Mac.

1) https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/mixed-reality/install_the_tools
the guide in the above link leads me to install Visual Studio 2017 and Select the Universal Windows Platform development workload/Select the Game Development with Unity workload.
However, Visual Studio 2017 is the exe extension file. Visual Studio 2017 for Mac does not seem to include Universal Windows Platform and Game Development with Unity workload.
am I correct?
In other words, do you not yet provide the direct install for mac and guide for mac yet?

2) It seems like I can use Parallels or other virtual machines to run window on mac and then download the Visual Studio 2017 with the exe extension file to set up.
However, Parallels for instance is not free and they are really bad in customer services. I prefer not to use them after many hours of hassel.
Does microsoft at this moment not provide any way for developers using mac to directly install things for HoloLens?
Is there any other way to install in any easier way?

Best Answer

• Options
    stepan_stulovstepan_stulov ✭✭✭