Hello everyone.

The Mixed Reality Forums here are no longer being used or maintained.

There are a few other places we would like to direct you to for support, both from Microsoft and from the community.

The first way we want to connect with you is our mixed reality developer program, which you can sign up for at https://aka.ms/IWantMR.

For technical questions, please use Stack Overflow, and tag your questions using either hololens or windows-mixed-reality.

If you want to join in discussions, please do so in the HoloDevelopers Slack, which you can join by going to https://aka.ms/holodevelopers, or in our Microsoft Tech Communities forums at https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/mixed-reality/ct-p/MicrosoftMixedReality.

And always feel free to hit us up on Twitter @MxdRealityDev.

Building/Packaging Unity Immersive Apps

Hi all,

I've been working with Unity for a couple years now, but Mixed Reality was my first time building a Universal Windows Platform / Windows Store application using it. I had some trouble, and it took some trial and error, but I did finally get it to work, so I thought I'd share some of the details I found, in hopes of making this easier for others.

First, in Unity (2017.2.0b5 (or later), of course), go to File, Build Settings. Under Platform, choose Universal Windows Platform. For target device, choose "HoloLens" (note, I believe you should be able to use "Any" as well, but I wasn't able to get this to work). Build Type should be D3D, and for everything else, I believe the defaults are fine.

Now, when you press "Build", you won't actually be creating your executable, instead, you'll be making a Visual Studio project that you'll need to open that can build your executable. Go to the directory you picked for the build, and open the solution file found there.