Hello everyone.

The Mixed Reality Forums here are no longer being used or maintained.

There are a few other places we would like to direct you to for support, both from Microsoft and from the community.

The first way we want to connect with you is our mixed reality developer program, which you can sign up for at https://aka.ms/IWantMR.

For technical questions, please use Stack Overflow, and tag your questions using either hololens or windows-mixed-reality.

If you want to join in discussions, please do so in the HoloDevelopers Slack, which you can join by going to https://aka.ms/holodevelopers, or in our Microsoft Tech Communities forums at https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/mixed-reality/ct-p/MicrosoftMixedReality.

And always feel free to hit us up on Twitter @MxdRealityDev.
Options

How to get the file when my app is opened via a file association?

Hello everyone,

I am fairly new to developing on the Hololens and have run into a snag. I am trying to make an application that is capable of viewing a 3D model file. Due to the restricted nature of the file system on the Hololens, my plan is to have the user download the file in Edge, click the downloaded file which should open my application via file associations. This part is fairly easy and I have the association in place. It opens my application just fine.

The problem is that I am using Unity and am not sure how to get the reference to the file inside of the application. I have searched and have not been able to find an example of anyone attempting this. Some of the things that I have tried include using Environment.GetCommandLineArgs() (which does not exist on the Hololens), as well as attempting to override the OnFileActivated() event (which also does not appear possible). Is there a way to accomplish this?

Regards,

Zarraya

Tagged:

Answers

• Options
    dbarrettdbarrett ✭✭✭
    edited December 2017

What folder are you downloading the files to?