Hello everyone.

The Mixed Reality Forums here are no longer being used or maintained.

There are a few other places we would like to direct you to for support, both from Microsoft and from the community.

The first way we want to connect with you is our mixed reality developer program, which you can sign up for at https://aka.ms/IWantMR.

For technical questions, please use Stack Overflow, and tag your questions using either hololens or windows-mixed-reality.

If you want to join in discussions, please do so in the HoloDevelopers Slack, which you can join by going to https://aka.ms/holodevelopers, or in our Microsoft Tech Communities forums at https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/mixed-reality/ct-p/MicrosoftMixedReality.

And always feel free to hit us up on Twitter @MxdRealityDev.
Options

How could I use Mixed Reality in a classroom?

My name is Nancy and I am a tutor and special educator.
I would like to use Holographic Reality as a basic mean of teaching in the classroom. Which would be the process, the training and the cost? Could this be applicable?

Answers

• Options

My opinion is that the hololens could be very useful ... however ...

There is a warning about seizures ... in my testing with 'special' users ... seizures came into play. Also the need to calibrate and pronounce clearly (voice driven app). Or be able to gaze and hold and do gestures appropriately. Calibration required too ... on the hololens anyway.

The calibration is especially annoying even to people who aren't special, just average slobs. I've sat and watched this play out again and again, though eventually most people can get through it ... and those that can't usually aren't able to close one eye at a time ... and some pull off the headset as if it's causing severe pain, but then recover nicely once it's off. But that seems to be more the type person who isn't ready to deal with their own inability to listen.

------------- assuming you get past seizures and calibration -------------