Hello everyone.

The Mixed Reality Forums here are no longer being used or maintained.

There are a few other places we would like to direct you to for support, both from Microsoft and from the community.

The first way we want to connect with you is our mixed reality developer program, which you can sign up for at https://aka.ms/IWantMR.

For technical questions, please use Stack Overflow, and tag your questions using either hololens or windows-mixed-reality.

If you want to join in discussions, please do so in the HoloDevelopers Slack, which you can join by going to https://aka.ms/holodevelopers, or in our Microsoft Tech Communities forums at https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/mixed-reality/ct-p/MicrosoftMixedReality.

And always feel free to hit us up on Twitter @MxdRealityDev.
Options

Unity UI Canvas Placement?

I've got yet another newbie question, mostly because I'm new to Unity development in general. I have a great Hololens app and I would like to add some Unity UI objects, mostly Text. They are placed on the canvas but I do not see them in my world (yes I changed my fonts from black to another color!).

Am I supposed to move my Unity Canvas to another point in my world view?

Best Answers

Answers

• Options
    Jarrod1937Jarrod1937 ✭✭✭

If you want to interact with the GUI, you must select world space, and maybe use something like the tagalong in the HoloToolKit for Unity. Screen and camera space keep it locked in place, so you'll never be able to interact with it via gaze. In regards to the font staying black, I was able to get around this by changing the shader of the material associated with the text. I was able to get white text this way.

• Options

Thanks, I guess it wasn't really a newbie question after all. That info helped a lot and I'm working fine now.

• Options