Hello everyone.

The Mixed Reality Forums here are no longer being used or maintained.

There are a few other places we would like to direct you to for support, both from Microsoft and from the community.

The first way we want to connect with you is our mixed reality developer program, which you can sign up for at https://aka.ms/IWantMR.

For technical questions, please use Stack Overflow, and tag your questions using either hololens or windows-mixed-reality.

If you want to join in discussions, please do so in the HoloDevelopers Slack, which you can join by going to https://aka.ms/holodevelopers, or in our Microsoft Tech Communities forums at https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/mixed-reality/ct-p/MicrosoftMixedReality.

And always feel free to hit us up on Twitter @MxdRealityDev.

PhotoCapture throwing IMediaCapture error

Hi! I'm pretty new to HoloLens. I'm trying to do a photo capture on the HoloLens and interact with the raw bytes. However, I get this error message when I run the program = Failed to initialize IMediaCapture (hr = 0xC00DABE0) when I try to create the asynchronous call in the beginning - PhotoCapture.CreateAsync(false, OnPhotoCaptureCreated);

Would really appreciate any help or tips! Thank you so much!

using UnityEngine;
using System.Collections;
using UnityEngine.VR.WSA.WebCam;
using System.Linq;
using System.Collections.Generic;

public class PhotoStream : MonoBehaviour {

private PhotoCapture photoCaptureObject = null;

// Use this for initialization
void Start () {
    Debug.Log("Webcam Mode is: " + WebCamMode.PhotoMode);
    PhotoCapture.CreateAsync(false, OnPhotoCaptureCreated);

}

// Update is called once per frame
void Update()
{

}

void OnPhotoCaptureCreated(PhotoCapture captureObject)
{
    Debug.Log("begin on photo capture created");
    // store object
    photoCaptureObject = captureObject;

Resolution cameraResolution = PhotoCapture.SupportedResolutions.OrderByDescending((res) => res.width * res.height).First();