Hello everyone.

The Mixed Reality Forums here are no longer being used or maintained.

There are a few other places we would like to direct you to for support, both from Microsoft and from the community.

The first way we want to connect with you is our mixed reality developer program, which you can sign up for at https://aka.ms/IWantMR.

For technical questions, please use Stack Overflow, and tag your questions using either hololens or windows-mixed-reality.

If you want to join in discussions, please do so in the HoloDevelopers Slack, which you can join by going to https://aka.ms/holodevelopers, or in our Microsoft Tech Communities forums at https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/mixed-reality/ct-p/MicrosoftMixedReality.

And always feel free to hit us up on Twitter @MxdRealityDev.
Options

The pain of not being able to develop for HoloLens

I'm quite new to the HoloLens community, and this post may seem a bit off-topic. But I look into HoloLens: The Reviews, apps, and capabilities, the more I see potential and the future. And I want to be a part of that future. My mind has sparked with ideas for apps that I could only dream could exist when I was a child. Now I want to make that dream a reality for myself and for others, and hopefully become successful as a third-party app developer.

Before I can pursue my dream of making my visions reality (or Augmented Reality I should say :P), I have two main issues that must be resolved on my end. The first is money. Being 17 and unemployed, I only barely have over $200 to call my own. I can't afford a $3000+ HoloLens, and I barely have enough to spend on Windows 10 Pro for an emulator.
The second issue being knowledge (or lack thereof). I'm quite endowed and experienced in parts of C++, C#, Java, CSS, HTML, and XAML. But 3D holograms are a beginner's worst nightmare! I'd personally love to work on a team and gain experience and get to know the Developer lifestyle while educating myself at the same time.