Hello everyone.

The Mixed Reality Forums here are no longer being used or maintained.

There are a few other places we would like to direct you to for support, both from Microsoft and from the community.

The first way we want to connect with you is our mixed reality developer program, which you can sign up for at https://aka.ms/IWantMR.

For technical questions, please use Stack Overflow, and tag your questions using either hololens or windows-mixed-reality.

If you want to join in discussions, please do so in the HoloDevelopers Slack, which you can join by going to https://aka.ms/holodevelopers, or in our Microsoft Tech Communities forums at https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/mixed-reality/ct-p/MicrosoftMixedReality.

And always feel free to hit us up on Twitter @MxdRealityDev.
Options

Hide and unhide of mesh - scripting

Beginner here: I working from the Origami tutorial, have added an object, 5 layers.

When placing the cursor on 1 of the layers I want to hide this layer. And unhide it again.

Please advice how to script this.

Also, where can I go to learn writing these simple scripts myself?

Thanks!

Answers

• Options

@Cyberfish_Fred

Here is are a couple of simple hide/show routines for hiding and showing the entire game object and in this form would be included in a script on the particular gameobject that you want to show/hide. That is one approach.

public void OnHide()
        {
            Renderer[] rendererArray = this.gameObject.GetComponentsInChildren<Renderer>();
            foreach (Renderer r in rendererArray)
            {
                r.enabled = false;
            }          
        }

public void OnShow()
        {
            Renderer[] rendererArray = this.gameObject.GetComponentsInChildren<Renderer>();
            foreach (Renderer r in rendererArray)
            {
                r.enabled = true;
            }            
        }