Hello everyone.

The Mixed Reality Forums here are no longer being used or maintained.

There are a few other places we would like to direct you to for support, both from Microsoft and from the community.

The first way we want to connect with you is our mixed reality developer program, which you can sign up for at https://aka.ms/IWantMR.

For technical questions, please use Stack Overflow, and tag your questions using either hololens or windows-mixed-reality.

If you want to join in discussions, please do so in the HoloDevelopers Slack, which you can join by going to https://aka.ms/holodevelopers, or in our Microsoft Tech Communities forums at https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/mixed-reality/ct-p/MicrosoftMixedReality.

And always feel free to hit us up on Twitter @MxdRealityDev.
Options

Creating Custom Holograms

Hello, I am a student studying Animation, focusing on computer graphics. I have a wide variety of models I have constructed as part of my studies and for other projects. I would like to know if it is possible to add my models to the Holograms app that comes with Hololens. I am aware of the FBX viewer app but from what I can tell it won't let me place permanent holograms within a share reality space in the same way the Holograms app can.

So, is there a way I can load custom models (either in .obj, .fbx or .ma formats) into the holograms app for placing in a shared reality space?

If this is not possible, I plan to design a Unity project that is capable of doing this, but I am not sure if it is possible for these holograms to persist in the same way that they do when using the Hologram app.

Thanks for any help or pointers.

Best Answer

Answers

• Options