Hello everyone.

The Mixed Reality Forums here are no longer being used or maintained.

There are a few other places we would like to direct you to for support, both from Microsoft and from the community.

The first way we want to connect with you is our mixed reality developer program, which you can sign up for at https://aka.ms/IWantMR.

For technical questions, please use Stack Overflow, and tag your questions using either hololens or windows-mixed-reality.

If you want to join in discussions, please do so in the HoloDevelopers Slack, which you can join by going to https://aka.ms/holodevelopers, or in our Microsoft Tech Communities forums at https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/mixed-reality/ct-p/MicrosoftMixedReality.

And always feel free to hit us up on Twitter @MxdRealityDev.
Options

Hololens device hygiene and cleaning

Has anyone come up with any bright ideas for quick hygiene on their hololens as it goes person to person? I work in a hospital and I need a way to medically disinfect the device between users. The disinfection wipes we have are in the pictures attached, but I'm afraid they will destroy the device. Any advice? Maybe I could cover the contact points in disposable tearaway strips or wrap them up?

Answers

• Options
    Jimbohalo10Jimbohalo10 ✭✭✭
    edited July 2016

@Scottieo
    My warning is that the plastic on many devices is made from
    will melt on simple 100% alcohol. That's what happens, there will be streaky lines. Many contains solvents of some sort. In UK there is Fairy Washing up liquid. It seemed harmless enough but the shiny surface of my plastic model (value $20) disappeared. I cleaned the outside of Google Cardboard, plastic visor and its melted with baby wipes!.
    Here is the list of ingredients
    http://oureverydaylife.com/ingredients-baby-wipes-12625.html

• Options

Hey scottieo,

Did you find a solution for this? I'm in the same position (hospital, using it at OR, clean/desinfect etc).

Regards,

Bram

• Options