Hello everyone.

The Mixed Reality Forums here are no longer being used or maintained.

There are a few other places we would like to direct you to for support, both from Microsoft and from the community.

The first way we want to connect with you is our mixed reality developer program, which you can sign up for at https://aka.ms/IWantMR.

For technical questions, please use Stack Overflow, and tag your questions using either hololens or windows-mixed-reality.

If you want to join in discussions, please do so in the HoloDevelopers Slack, which you can join by going to https://aka.ms/holodevelopers, or in our Microsoft Tech Communities forums at https://techcommunity.microsoft.com/t5/mixed-reality/ct-p/MicrosoftMixedReality.

And always feel free to hit us up on Twitter @MxdRealityDev.
Options

How to debug Unity script

Hi, I am new to Unity and VS and help someone can help me. When I run my app in Emulator or hololens, how can I debug the script I wrote for Unity?

Best Answer

Answers

• Options

@Fireman,
    When you are in Visual Studio, select Debug > Start with Debugging (or press F5) and you will be able to debug these scripts. Unity scripts compile into an assembly that is loaded by your application and are able to be debugged like any other assembly.

Thanks!
    David

• Options

@DavidKlineMS, thanks. But I could not find my script in VS project. SHould it be there? Without the original script file, how can I set break point?

• Options
    HoloSheepHoloSheep mod
    edited May 2016

@Fireman the first thing you want to double check is that on the build settings screen in Unity you have the "Unity C# Projects" checkbox checked when you build from Unity.

Next when you open the VS solution that gets built into the App directory from the Build output, look for the "Assembly-CSharp (Universal Windows)" project in the Solution Explorer.